Our Leadership

Mark Askren

President Hank Bounds appointed Mark Askren as Vice President and Chief Information Officer (CIO) for the University of Nebraska in September, 2016. Askren also serves as the CIO for the University of Nebraska-Lincoln campus.

Bret Blackman
Bret Blackman
Associate Vice President and UNO CIO
(402) 554-2227
bblackman@unomaha.edu
Deb Schroeder
Deb Schroeder
Assistant Vice President and UNK CIO
(308) 865-8950
schroederd@unk.edu
Kimberly Harper
Assistant Vice President, IT Strategic Planning
(402) 472-7518
kkharper@nebraska.edu
Rick Haugerud
Assistant Vice President, Security Services
(402) 472-2135
rhaugerud@unl.edu
Don Mihulka
Assistant Vice President, Enterprise Services
(402) 472-8344
dmihulka@nebraska.edu
Michael Ruhrdanz
Assistant Vice President, Infrastructure
(402) 472-5236
mruhrdanz@nebraska.edu
Neil Wineman
Assistant Vice President, Client Services
(402) 472-1104
neil.wineman@unl.edu

Leadership

Information technology touches every part of the four University of Nebraska campuses. Its rapid growth challenges us to strategically leverage our resources to efficiently provide the best services we can. To that end, collaboration is vital.

 

University of Nebraska Enterprise Services, University of Nebraska Kearney (UNK), University of Nebraska-Lincoln (UNL), and University of Nebraska Omaha (UNO), have unified system-wide Information Technology Services. In March 2017, the OneIT Initiative kicked off a new way of organizing information technology resources across all parts of the university system and that work continues to evolve. On Aug. 2, a new leadership structure was announced with five shared service teams.

 

Further, the University of Nebraska Medical Center (UNMC) and Nebraska Medicine IT departments are transitioning into a single unit. The new unified University of Nebraska ITS team will collaborate to align and standardize technologies for common services where we can as well as to continue the progress on joint procurement.